Donate to Support Jenny Glenn

Jenny Glenn Family

My name is Jenny Glenn.  I’m a 47 year old wife and homeschooling mother of 12 children (ages 4-27). Eleven of them are still at home, and nine of them are currently homeschooling.  My husband is a civilian employed by the U.S. Army, so we have had the privilege of moving from our home state of Alabama, to South Korea, to Colorado, to South Korea again, to our current home in North Augusta, South Carolina.  My mother has joined us here and we are pleased to call SC our final home.

I have a condition called Functional Neurological Disorder (FND).  FND is commonly referred to as a “software problem” with the brain. It is the second most common reason for people to visit the neurologist, after headaches, and can be as debilitating as Multiple Sclerosis or Parkinson’s. FND can cause many different symptoms.  Among my symptoms are problems with mobility (I limp on one or both legs because my knees buckle and I have balance issues), widespread pain, overwhelming fatigue, myoclonus (jerking/twitching), tremors, migraines, insomnia, dizziness, dissociation, brain fog, and blurry/double vision.  I use a cane or walker for mobility assistance. In the space of five years, I have gone from being able to run four miles and do everything for my husband, kids, and myself in a foreign country where I didn’t speak the language, to having to depend on my family to cook, clean, and run errands.

I am thrilled and honored to be a PAALS client.  I look forward to getting matched to a dog who can pick up things when I drop them (especially my cane!), retrieve a drink from the fridge, turn on and off lights, open doors, rest on my feet when I feel ungrounded, and to encourage me to stay as active as I possibly can.  I also have a little vegetable and fruit garden that I really love and I look forward to having my dog there to help carry things and maybe even do a little digging!

Thank you so much for helping me reach my goal of $5000 to pay for my team training!